OLCA: The Ohio Statehouse press corps
Journalists' group covering state government since 1893
Created by the Ohio General Assembly in 1893 to accredit Statehouse reporters, the Ohio Legislative Correspondents Association (OLCA) spans the era from hand-set type and fountain pens, to VDTs and full-page pagination, to laptops, smart phones and Twitter feeds. OLCA members are professional journalists whose primary duties involve news coverage of the Legislature, state agencies and officials and politics. More than 50 OLCA members represent newspapers from around Ohio, as well as the Associated Press, daily information and photo services, radio stations and broadcast and cable television stations. OLCA functions independently to ensure only legitimate reporters are granted floor privileges in the House of Representatives and Senate. OLCA also acts as a watchdog to preserve the rights of the public and press to access government records and meetings.

OLCA membership roster and contact information

A list of OLCA members and their news media organizations, mailing addresses, telephone and fax numbers, e-mail addresses, web sites and other information may be viewed or downloaded by clicking the following link:

Click here for OLCA membership roster and contact information

Statehouse Press Room

The Statehouse Press Room -- on the first floor east of the governor's office -- serves as the central distribution point of information to OLCA members.

Press Room
Room 107
Ohio Statehouse
Columbus, Ohio 43215

Press Room telephone number and clerk:
Senate press clerk: Wendy Estes (614) 466-4482

There is no fax machine in the Press Room. All information to be distributed through the Press Room must be mailed or hand-delivered. Please provide 30 copies of releases for distribution to the Statehouse press corps. Information ideally also should be sent to members' individual offices by mail, fax or e-mail. Questions may be directed to the association's officers listed below.

Ohio Legislative Correspondents Association officers (2017-18)

* President: Jackie Borchardt, The Cleveland Plain Dealer
* Vice President: Jim Provance, Toledo Blade
* Treasurer: Darrel Rowland, The Columbus Dispatch
* Secretary: Melissa Dilley, Gongwer News Service
* Board member: Jo Ingles, Ohio Public Radio & TV
* Immediate Past President: Shane Stegmiller, Hannah News Service

Web hosting courtesy of Gongwer News Service.
Statehouse photo courtesy of Jack Kustron/photoj.com.
This page and links updated May 23, 2017. Contact the Webmaster.